top of page
  • Pastor Megan

How Can I Keep From Singing?




Ever since the shelter-in-place order went into effect a few weeks, I have had the same hymn by Robert Lowry stuck in my head, playing on repeat:


1. My life flows on in endless song; above earth’s lamentation, I catch the sweet, though far off hymn that hails a new creation.

Refrain: No storm can shake my inmost calm while to that Rock I’m clinging. Since Christ is Lord of heaven and earth, how can I keep from singing?

2 .Through all the tumult and the strife, I hear that music ringing. It finds an echo in my soul. How can I keep from singing? [Refrain]

3. What though my joys and comforts die? I know my Savior liveth. What though the darkness gather round? Songs in the night he giveth. [Refrain]

4. The peace of Christ makes fresh my heart, a fountain ever springing! All things are mine since I am his! How can I keep from singing? [Refrain]


I invite you to pull up "How Can I Keep from Singing?" on Youtube (I like the version by Audrey Assad) and meditate on its words and message. Close your eyes, get in a comfortable position, and let the melody flow through you. What words or phrases resonate with the tune of your heart right now? Which of the verses or the refrain harmonize with the music playing in your mind? What Truth does this song sing for you about God our Creator and Christ our Savior? There are not "right" or "wrong" answers. Share your resonances and Truths in the comments below.

23 views
bottom of page